B. Rosie Lerner
Purdue Extension


Download the audio files or subscribe to our podcast.





Follow us online at Purdue Agriculture News Columns

Switchgrass Northwind named 2014 Perennial Plant
of the Year

Switchgrass fall color
Switchgrass fall color

Photo credit: Rosie Lerner
/Purdue Extension

Switchgrass Northwind has swept its way to the top as the Perennial Plant Association's Perennial Plant of the Year for 2014. The Northwind cultivar of Panicum virgatum is distinguished by starkly upright habit compared to the original species.

Northwind provides landscape interest from late summer through winter. Blooms appear in late summer, followed by upright seed heads and golden fall foliage. In winter, enjoy the musical swishing sounds as the sturdy foliage sways in the breeze. Northwind is a fast grower, reaching about 5 feet tall by the time it blooms in late summer.

Switchgrass is a warm-season perennial grass native to most of the continental U.S. While it thrives best in full sun and moist, fertile soil, it adapts well to a wide range of growing conditions, except heavy clay. Once established, Switchgrass can be quite drought tolerant, as well as tolerant to periodic flooding. The foliage can be left standing during winter to reduce soil erosion and provide food and cover for wildlife, such as pheasant, quail, turkey and songbirds. Cut the foliage back to about 3-4 inches before the new growth begins in spring.

The Perennial Plant Association selects a different perennial plant each year to promote throughout the nursery and gardening industry. PPA members nominate plants based on several criteria, including low maintenance needs, adaptability to a wide range of climates, pest and disease resistance, wide availability, multiple seasons of interest and ease of propagation. A selection committee then narrows the field to three or four choices from which the members cast their votes.

Previous PPA Perennial Plant of the Year winners

2013 Polygonatum odoratum variegatum
2012 Brunnera macrophylla Jack Frost
2011 Amsonia hubrichtii
2010 Baptisia australis
2009 Hakonechloa macra Aureola
2008 Geranium Rozanne
2007 Nepeta Walker's Low
2006 Dianthus gratianopolitanus Feuerhexe
2005 Helleborus x hybridus
2004 Athyrium niponicum pictum
2003 Leucanthemum Becky
2002 Phlox David
2001 Calamagrostis x acutiflora Karl Foerster
2000 Scabiosa columbaria Butterfly Blue
1999 Rudbeckia fulgida var. sullivantii Goldsturm
1998 Echinacea purpurea Magnus
1997 Salvia Mainacht (May Night)
1996 Penstemon digitalis Husker Red
1995 Perovskia atriplicifolia
1994 Astilbe Sprite
1993 Veronica Sunny Border Blue
1992 Coreopsis verticillata Moonbeam
1991 Heuchera micrantha Palace Purple
1990 Phlox stolonifera
For more information on the Perennial Plant of the Year program, see


Writer: B. Rosie Lerner
Editor: Olivia Maddox